Book Discussion Groups and Events

Audience
Book cover of a to z mysteries, the absent author.
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Friday, March 1, 2024 4:30pm - 1 hour 30 minutes

For fans of Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, Cam Jansen, and A-Z Mysteries, join us for Mystery Book Club and Escape Room. We will meet every first Friday of the month for a book club and escape room to work on problem-solving skills, critical thinking, and book discussion as we work our way through children's mystery classics! 

For ages 8-11. 

Email Sierra Fransen, sierra.fransen@pitkincounty.com to join.

book cover for the lesbiana's guide to catholic school by sonora reyes
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Tuesday, March 5, 2024 5:30pm - 1 hour

It is essential that all individuals have the opportunity to see themselves represented in the literature they read. However, this can be a challenge for queer teens. We aim to establish a safe space for the LGBT+ youth and their supporters to congregate and connect over queer literature in a positive way. Once a month, we will select a book authored by a queer writer or featuring queer characters. We encourage open and respectful dialogue among all of our participants.

Open to ages 14-18. 

Register here or contact Shannon Foster at shannon.foster@pitkincounty.com.

Book cover of the celebrants by Steven Rowley. Cover shows four friends on a seaside deck looking out to sea.
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Wednesday, March 6, 2024 5:30pm - 1 hour

#GetLit with Books + Brews! This book club is for lit-lovers 21 and older who get thirsty from reading. Reading does not have to be a solitary experience, join us as we gather to discuss classics or contemporary picks and socially engage with literature and current events.

Meetings take place monthly on Wednesdays at 5:30 pm in the Dunaway Community Room. Books provided by the Library, brews provided by you! Please email jackie.welgos@pitkincounty.com for more information.

book cover for five survive by holly jackson
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Wednesday, March 13, 2024 4:30pm - 1 hour

The Book Thieves meet monthly to discuss young adult literature. Snacks and books will be provided. This book club is for youth in grades 7-12. Attendees of the Book Thieves meetings will receive a sticker for the book of the month! Sign Up for Book Thieves Book Club.

For questions, view the Book Thieves Book Club FAQ or email Madison via madison.ledford@pitkincounty.com

Our moon by Rebecca Boyle book cover of wolves howling at the moon.
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Monday, March 11, 2024 5:30pm - 1 hour

The NonFiction Book Club meets at the Pitkin County Library to discuss a new, challenging, and interesting book each month. We are always welcoming new members. If you would like to join the club please call the library at 970-429-1900 or email Bradley Peate at bradley.peate@pitkincounty.com.

How to money by Jean Chatzky book cover of young person looking at different industries that cost money.
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Wednesday, March 20, 2024 5:30pm - 1 hour

Every month, we discuss chosen contents (book, movie, magazine, Ted Talk...) with a financial flavor. Please call or sign up if you plan to attend.

painted image of an older man in the style of the seventeen hundreds. text reads candide by voltaire.
 
Meeting Date and Time:
Tuesday, March 26, 2024 5:30pm - 1 hour

Meetings are at the Library every 4th Tuesday of the month.

This year's banned books book club will be reading materials that have been historically challenged or are on the American Library Association's current challenge list. All suggestions are taken from a list compiled by current and past participants of our book club. 

We will discuss reasons for the item being banned or challenged, and the importance of access in upholding intellectual freedom. This is a safe place for hard discussions. Please join us for what will be our best session yet!

Sign-Up for Banned Books Book Club

Contact Senior Librarian, Shannon Foster (970) 429-1943, shannon.foster@pitkincounty.com.